Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: iray, vray, octane, arion, let's talk about noise

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    7

    Default iray, vray, octane, arion, let's talk about noise

    Hi guys,

    This is a stupid test that I did to show you how all gpu softwares render the noise differently.

    The model is a simple room 5x5x3 meters with a rectangular aperture of 0,5x0,5 meters.

    On the floor several big teapots with plastic, metal, glass materials (no dispersion). The walls have a diffuse white material.

    The camera has 2.8 of aperture, 400 iso, 1/100 shutter speed.

    The light comes from the hole on the ceiling. Proprietary Sun+Skylight for each scene.

    3507x2480, 3 hours of rendering, 4 gtx580 used.

    Please notice the noise:

    Arion: noise really compact, very good and smooth
    Octane: noise very good and sharp
    iRay: noise with checkerboard artifacts under the glass teapots
    Vray: bands everywhere, render unusable
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    The V-Ray RT issue is fixed for the next service pack due in a couple of weeks.

    Further on, it is an issue only for the RT engine, not for the regular renderer.

    Best regards,
    Vlado

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gabrielefx View Post
    3507x2480, 3 hours of rendering, 4 gtx580 used.
    Could you possibly post the mi file (ASCII format) used for the iray render??? I just posted a question about rendering with (4) GTX 580's. I would like to compare your benchmarks and system specs with mine. I might even be able to get the scene to a server with a Tesla S2050. I really want a good benchmark scene.

    Here's my post asking about render speed discrepancies:
    http://forum.mentalimages.com/showth...nd-Performance

    Thanks,
    Dave
    Last edited by SunDevilDave; December 10th, 2011 at 20:10. Reason: typo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    octane is in beta right now. vray is not.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    nice sharing

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    cool work man

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    nice sharing thanks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I new and searching gpu render engine

    best is iray?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Berlin/Germany
    Posts
    661

    Default

    I am going to remove these distracting "permission" posts later on, but first let me answer it:

    Quote Originally Posted by ferenczlorandka View Post
    Write a private message to the moderator and ask him to give you rights ( in this case to steve)
    That's possible but not the best way. You could have checked the FAQ, which gives an answer exactly to this question. As a first time user, give us a first post that is helpful to identify you as a real person, and in the best case, also contributing to the community.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1

    Default

    thank you for sharing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •